Posted by: pattiandben | November 10, 2008

Don’t Just Thank Me… We Only Have 16 Days Left!!

Hello!

As many of you know, I am in the crucial battleground state of Colorado, campaigning for Barack Obama.

And many of you have thanked me for going to Colorado to help in this Great Fight. But, today I am begging you to do more than just thank me.  Even though the polls and the pundits say Obama is ahead, we cannot rest on our laurels now.

There are only 16 days left in this election and as Obama himself told us in a national staff call on Friday, “Eighteen days are an eternity. It’s not that long ago when McCain and I were tied”. He said now is not the time to cheer, “I want you to be afraid. We need to continue to go into this like we’re 10 points down…. we don’t want to wake up on November 5th and say we let history slip through our hands.”

So I beg you… please help us win this election. I know you can find the time to volunteer. I was upset at the outcome in 2004, but I actually never did anything to help change it. This time I don’t want to look back and say that I didn’t do enough. I hope you do the same.

California may be in the bag, but there are a ton of things you can do to help our battleground states. Posting articles on Facebook and forwarding political emails isn’t going to cut it. Here’s just a few ideas:

  • Make calls from your own home, and change those undecided voters to Obama supporters. It’s super easy. Go to www.barackobama.com and click on “Make Calls”. They’ll send you a call list from a battleground state with the registered voter’s info, and a short easy to follow script. If the person’s a McCain supporter, you just thank them and hang up. If they’re undecided, tell your story and follow the script. If they’re a supporter, ask them to help volunteer and to vote early.
  • Join a phone bank party… if you want company while you’re calling. Go to www.barackobama.com and click on “Find Event”
  • Go to your local field office. They have phone banks set up there and can use your help with many, many things. Here’s the main offices for Callifornia, but there are hundreds of local field offices that are right next door to you: http://my.barackobama.com/page/content/caoffices/
  • Sponsor travel for someone who can go to a swing state if you can’t. Donate your airline miles or fund a road trip for a volunteer. I posted my own travel request there  http://www.travelforchange.org/
  • Donate Money!!
  • Find a local event. Go to www.barackobama.com and click on “Find Event”

For those who really want to help….

  • Just do it! Go to a battleground state! Take Nov 1st and 2nd off from work and help out in the last crucial days to Get Out the Vote. If you can get there, there’s free volunteer housing available. If you have ties to a swing state, go there. It’s a powerful thing to knock on doors in the neighborhood you grew up in or used to work in, and as a bonus visit your friends and family and get them to volunteer with you.
  • Drive for Change: If you’re in California, go to Nevada on the weekend. Last weekend they had 1,000 people “Drive for Change,” and they will need more as we get closer. If you’re in NY, you can Drive for Change to Pennsylvania or Virginia http://my.barackobama.com/page/content/driveforchange

Call me or email me if you you have any questions! I’ve been crazy busy of course… not eating dinner til 9pm on most nights. I just posted a few pix of my time here at this site. Will have daily postings if you want to see what I’m up to here.

http://www.zannel.com/patti4Obama

I need to go to a fundraiser, so I can’t go into details on my time here, but so far, I’ve been tasked to mobilize the Asian American vote which has been very invigorating. Here are some highlights: Talked to a number of Korean newspapers who interviewed me and my friend Hayin Kim, campaigned with congressional candidate Hank Eng who could be come the first Asian American congressman in the mountain states. Ghost wrote op-ed articles for Yul Kwon (the Korean winner of the Survivor TV show) and Congressman Mike Honda for their support of Obama. Was on a national staff call with Obama, which was a rare appearance. Last time he came on to talk to staff was after the DNC.

I’ll try to send some periodic emails. If you want off this list, just lemme know.

Go ‘Bama!!

;patti

Leave a Reply

Categories

